

Carroll County Communication District (CCCD) 6/7/2023 Meeting Minutes

Location: Annex Meeting Room, Carroll County Complex, 10 County Farm Rd., Ossipee, NH 03864

Meeting was called to order by CCCD Planning Committee Chair Linda Mailhot at 10:34AM.

- Roll Call Present: Rick Hiland (Albany), Stephen Berry (Brookfield), Marshall Goldberg
 (Brookfield), Stanley Dudrick (Eaton), Bert Weiss (Chatham)Zoom, Linda Mailhot(Freedom), Chuck Fuller
 (Effingham), Rich Comer (Effingham), David Walker (Harts Location), Mary Cronin (Madison)Zoom, Bill
 Lord (Madison), Matt Sawyer (Ossipee), Sherryl Hitte(Tamworth), Bob Murray (Tuftonboro); Others
 Present Matthew Plache; Others on Zoom Bill Gassman; Glenn Coppelman; Public none.
 NOTE: 10 Board members present in person and 2 on ZOOM and 11 of 16 Towns are represented to
 date with 10 present at today's meeting
- 2. Election of Officers discussion involved how to proceed. It was mentioned that due to the fact that we are still waiting on 5 towns to appoint Board members and alternates we should wait to elect Officers as they should be able to participate in that process, we should appoint an Interim Executive Committee with a term limit to begin the basic organization of the District. Discussion. Matt Sawyer made a motion to approve an Interim Executive Committee for 90 days beginning June 7, 2023 consisting of Linda Mailhot as Chairperson, Chuck Fuller as Vice Chair, Stephen Berry as Treasurer, and Rick Hiland as Clerk; to perform the organizing tasks of acquiring an EIN, register name with NH Secretary of State, acquire an UEI-SAMS number, open a checking account, schedule a meeting with County Commissioners regarding balance of grant, Look into liability/bonding insurance with PRIMEX, look into joining NHMA, and formulating a beginning budget, 2nd by Sherryl Hitte. There was no further discussion, and it was passed unanimously (10-0) in a roll call vote(see attached vote tally).
- 3. Next Steps including meeting location Bob Murray volunteered to check with the County Commissioners to see if we could continue to use the County Annex Meeting Room and report back to the Interim Executive Committee.
- 4. **Other Business** discussion about what sub committees we should consider the following committees with assignments:
 - **Web Site Committee** Bill Gassman, Mary Cronin, and Rich Comer Explore domain name, Put together basic website & email.
 - Grant Committee Bill Lord, Marshall Goldberg, and Chuck Fuller Research & determine eligibility for grant opportunities including sitting in on webinars as needed, interface with Matt Conserva Broadband Program Manager with NH Dept of Business & Economic Affairs, interface with Clay Purvis Federal Program Officer for VT/NH with Office of Internet Connectivity and Growth at US Dept of Commerce, BEAD, Northern Borders, USDA grants, BMGI

(SB85 75/25 Broadband Matching Grant Initiative), https://www.nheconomy.com/office-of-broadband-initiatives/state-and-federal-programs/federal-programs

- Outreach/Information/Education Committee Sherryl Hitte, Bill Gassman Collect pertinent information the public should know & disseminate said information to public through various outlets (i.e. once grants have been awarded and if those funds contain money for digital equity in the form of low-cost internet plans and/or purchasing of equipment to gain internet access.
- Advocacy Committee Rick Hiland, Others Keep abreast of legislation effecting broadband, to track NH Legislation, Federal Legislation, FCC, NH PUC, and NHMA.
- Executive Committee will communicate with potential providers Est. mailing address;
 Register trade name with Secretary of State); Open bank account; Apply for UEI through
 SAMS.gov; Put estimate of costs together (insurance, bonding of the Treasurer, website,
 registration fee with Secretary of State \$57 paid by LM, other?); Ask county for balance of
 original ARPA funds in amount of \$14,441.54; Interface with ISPs; Look into NH Municipal
 Association.

Committees will draft titles of their respective committees.

- 5. **Next Meeting** July 12, 2023 at 10AM at the Carroll County Annex Meeting Room, subject to confirmation from the County Office that the meeting room is available.
- 6. Adjournment Motion to adjourn by Chuck Fuller, 2nd by Matt Sawyer, passed unanimously by a voice vote and the Chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 11:13 AM.

Respectfully submitted,

Rick Hiland Interim Clerk

NOTE: Meeting attendance Roll Call and roll call votes attached below on Page 3.

Meeting attendance Roll Call and roll call votes:

Meeting Date: June 7, 2023

Meeting Date: June 7, 20					Int. Exec
			A + +	Voting	Comm
Chave Mass	+-	ALDANIV	Attendance	Towns	Vote
Steve Knox	Α	ALBANY	_		
Rick Hiland	V	ALBANY	Р	Υ	Y
TBD		BARTLETT			
TBD		BARTLETT			
Stephen Berry	Α	BROOKFIELD	Р		
Marshall Goldberg	V	BROOKFIELD	Р	Υ	Y
Bert Weiss	V	CHATHAM	ZOOM		
TBD		CHATHAM			
TBD		CONWAY			
TBD		CONWAY			
John Border	V	EATON			
Stanley Dudrick	Α	EATON	Р	Υ	Υ
Chuck Fuller	V	EFFINGHAM	Р	Υ	Υ
Rich Comer	Α	EFFINGHAM	Р		
Linda Mailhot	V	FREEDOM	Р	Υ	Υ
Melissa Florio	Α	FREEDOM			
TBD		HALES LOC			
TBD		HALES LOC			
John Gallagher	V	HARTS LOC			
David Walker	Α	HARTS LOC	Р	Υ	Υ
Frank DiFruscio	V	JACKSON			
William Terry	Α	JACKSON			
Bill Lord	V	MADISON	Р	Υ	Υ
Mary Cronin	Α	MADISON	ZOOM		
TBD		MOULTONBORO			
TBD		MOULTONBORO			
Matt Sawyer Jr.	V	OSSIPEE	Р	Υ	Υ
Matt Trahan	Α	OSSIPEE			
Sherryl Hitte	V	TAMWORTH	Р	Υ	Υ
TBD		TAMWORTH			
Bob Murray	V	TUFTONBORO	Р	Υ	Υ
Guy Pike	Α	TUFTONBORO			
		YES	12	10	10
		NO	-	-	0
		ZOOM	2		