

Carroll County Communication District (CCCD) 7/12/2023 Meeting Minutes

Location: Annex Meeting Room, Carroll County Complex, 10 County Farm Rd., Ossipee, NH 03864

Meeting was called to order by CCCD Interim Chairperson Linda Mailhot at 10:00AM.

- Roll Call See page 3 of these minutes for the roll call list of all Governing Board Members present (P), Governing Board Members present on ZOOM (Z), and voting Governing Board Members present (P). Others on Zoom – Glenn Coppelman (NCC); Public – none.
 NOTE: the 10 voting Governing Board Members present in person makes a quorum.
- 2. Chairperson Updates Linda Mailhot has not received approval of name from the NH Secretary of State and has held up much of what needs to be accomplished.
 She also addressed the latest series of newspaper articles regarding Matt Plache consulting contract with the CCCDPC. The CCCDPC or the District has done nothing wrong. A press statement was drafted by the CCCDPC Executive Committee and distributed to all CCCD Board Members and the representative members of the CCCDPC to be issued to any inquiries by the press to any of the members. She also asked that any press inquiries be directed to her as we wish to speak with one voice with factual information.
- 3. **Subcommittee Updates** lots of discussion on various topics & issues by all subcommittee members regarding assignments:
 - Web Site Committee Bill Gassman in process & waiting on District name confirmation.
 - Grant Committee Bill Lord & Chuck Fuller in process & waiting on District name confirmation.
 - Outreach/Information/Education Committee Sherryl Hitte in process & waiting on District name confirmation.
 - Advocacy Committee Rick Hiland in process & it was also noted that SB222 legislation has
 passed the NH House & NH Senate and waiting on Governor's signature. SB222 allows
 Communication Districts to utilize revenue bonds and it changes the minimum internet speed to
 100 mbps download and 20 mbps upload in NH.
 - **Executive Committee** in process & waiting on District name confirmation to proceed with organizing.
- 4. Minutes the June 6, 2023 minutes were distributed to all Board Members by email in advance of the meeting. Chuck Fuller motioned to approve the June 6, 2023 Meeting Minutes as presented with the addition of Glenn Coppleman in attendance by ZOOM, 2nd by Sherryl Hitte. There was no further discussion, errors or omissions and it passed unanimously by a voice vote. (10 0)

5. **Other Business** - Governing Board Members must draft a Rules of Procedure per the District Agreement. The Chair asked for volunteers - Chuck Fuller & Rick Hiland will draft a working copy for the next meeting.

John Gallagher reported on available BEAD grant funds to NH that will be available in the future.

Bill Gassman mentioned that we need to start meeting with ISP providers, NH Broadband officials, and Federal grant officials and schedule them to attend our future meetings to establish communications and to find out future plans and available grant funding for Carroll County. Bill also inquired about the UNH study and their results regarding served, unserved and underserved areas in the towns in the county.

Rick Hiland (Interim Clerk) asked that members notify the Chairperson in advance of the meeting if they cannot attend any meetings in person. We need a minimum of 9 voting member towns present in person in order to have a quorum to conduct our meetings. Please remember that we have members coming long distances to attend meetings.

- 6. **Next Meeting** August 16, 2023 at 10AM at the Carroll County Annex Meeting Room, subject to confirmation from the County Office that the meeting room is available.
- 7. Adjournment Motion to adjourn by Chuck Fuller, 2nd by Matt Sawyer, passed unanimously by a voice vote and the Chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 11:13 AM.

Respectfully submitted,

Rick Hiland Interim Clerk

NOTE: Meeting attendance Roll Call and roll call votes attached below on Page 3.

Meeting Time: 10AM		1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8
			Voting	Minutes	Treasuerer				
		Attendence	Member	Approval	Report				
Rick Hiland	ALBANY	Р	Р	VOICE	NONE				
? Alt	ALBANY			VOTE					
Jason Garber	BARTLETT	Z		Approved					
Vivki Garland Alt	BARTLETT			per					
Marshall Goldberg	BROOKFIELD	Р	Р	Chair					
Stephen Berry - Alt.	BROOKFIELD	Р							
Bert Weiss	CHATHAM	Р	Р						
? Alt	CHATHAM								
? Rep	CONWAY								
? Alt	CONWAY								
John Border	EATON	Z							
Stanley Dudrick - Alt	EATON	Z							
Chuck Fuller	EFFINGHAM	Р	Р						
Rich Comer - Alt	EFFINGHAM	Р							
Linda Mailhot	FREEDOM	Р	Р						
Melissa Florio - Alt	FREEDOM								
Ben Klaus	HALES LOC	Р	Р						
William Houk - Alt	HALES LOC								
John Gallagher	HARTS LOC	Р	Р						
David Walker Alt	HARTS LOC								
Frank DiFruscio	JACKSON								
William Terry - Alt	JACKSON	Z							
Bill Lord	MADISON	Р	Р						
Mary Cronin - Alt	MADISON								
Bill Gassman	MOULTONBORO	Р	Р						
Jean Beadle - Alt	MOULTONBORO	Z							
Matt Sawyer	OSSIPEE								
Matt Trahan - Alt	OSSIPEE								
Sherryl Hitte	TAMWORTH	Р	Р						
? Alt	TAMWORTH								1
Bob Murray	TUFTONBORO								1
Guy Pike - Alt	TUFTONBORO								
	Present / YES	12	10	10					
Revised 7/12/23	Absent / NO			0					
	Z = ZOOM	5							