# ANNUAL REPORT



# SEPTEMBER 2023

# CARROLL COUNTY COMMUNICATIONS DISTRICT

# <u>Incoming Executive Committee (08/23-10/25)</u>

Chair: Linda Mailhot, Freedom

Vice Chair: Pam Hearne, Tamworth

Treasurer: Sherryl Hitte, Tamworth

Secretary: Marshall Goldberg, Brookfield

# Outgoing Interim Executive Committee (06/23-08/23)

Chair: Linda Mailhot, Freedom

Vice Chair: Chuck Fuller, Effingham

Treasurer: Stephen Berry, Brookfield

Secretary: Rick Hiland, Albany

### Meeting Location

10 Town Farm Rd., Ossipee, NH 03836

Website: <a href="https://cccdnh.org/">https://cccdnh.org/</a>

Email: info@cccdnh.org

# **Table of Contents**

- 1. Chairman's Letter
- 2. Organization Overview
- 3. Fiscal Information
- 4. Historical Outline

#### 1. Chairman's Letter

It gives me great pleasure to report that the Carroll County Communications District (CCCD) has been formed as the first-ever communications district in the State of New Hampshire. All 16 towns in Carroll County that participated in the planning process voted successfully to be part of this historic Communications District. This would not have been possible without the hard work and efforts of all the Representatives of those 16 towns.

I would like to identify a few individuals, without whom this Communications District would not have happened. First, I would like to recognize the late Steve Knox of Albany. It was his idea to make affordable high speed internet available to all in rural Carroll County. A few others include Rick Hiland of Albany as a key organizer of the Planning Committee (also former Clerk of the CCCDPC); Diane Jarecki of Effingham (former Chair of the CCCDPC); Chuck Fuller of Effingham (former Vice Chair of the CCCDPC); and Stephen Berry of Brookfield (former Treasurer of the CCCDPC). It is my honor to have worked alongside the entire team of dedicated Representatives to the Planning Committee, most of whom are now Representatives to the CCCD. And, of course, a big thank you to NH State Senator Jeb Bradley for his invaluable help in submitting and moving needed broadband legislation through the NH Legislature and on for the Governor's signature.

As the District Agreement states, the CCCD shall encourage, facilitate, and promote the establishment of state-of-the-art symmetrical high speed broadband internet connectivity and service to every residence and business within Carroll County NH, working cooperatively with or in partnership with existing internet service providers through formal or informal agreement when possible.

High speed broadband internet has been demonstrated to be a necessity in today's world, and it certainly is a non-partisan issue. Legislation has been passed to start closing the gap of those residences and businesses that qualify as unserved and underserved. Tens of millions of dollars in grants have been awarded in NH to internet service providers over the past year, and efforts are currently underway in Carroll County by both CCI/Fidium as well as the New Hampshire Electric Cooperative. More grants are on the way, including funds for digital equity & training. Much has been done, but there is a lot more to do!

Regards,

Linda Mailhot, Chair

Iinda Mailhot

# 2. Organization Overview

The CCCD was organized in 2023 as provided by NH RSA 53-G. Our first meeting was June 7, 2023. The District members are the 16 Towns of Albany, Bartlett, Brookfield, Chatham, Conway, Eaton, Effingham, Freedom, Hale's Location, Hart's Location, Jackson, Madison, Moultonborough, Ossipee, Tamworth, and Tuftonboro. The CCCD Governing Board is composed of unpaid Representatives appointed by the Select Boards of the Member Towns. The Governing Board elects an Executive Committee comprised of a Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer and Secretary on a bi-annual basis. The current Representatives to the District are:

Rick Hiland	ALBANY
Jason Garber	BARTLETT
Vicki Garland - Alt.	BARTLETT
Marshall Goldberg	BROOKFIELD
Stephen Berry - Alt.	BROOKFIELD
Bert Weiss	СНАТНАМ
TBD	CONWAY
John Border	EATON
Stanley Dudrick - Alt.	EATON
Chuck Fuller	EFFINGHAM
Rich Comer - Alt.	EFFINGHAM
Linda Mailhot	FREEDOM
Melissa Florio - Alt.	FREEDOM
Ben Klaus	HALES LOC
William Houk - Alt.	HALES LOC
John Gallagher	HARTS LOC
David Walker - Alt.	HARTS LOC
Frank DiFruscio	JACKSON
William Terry - Alt.	JACKSON
Bill Lord	MADISON
Mary Cronin - Alt.	MADISON
Bill Gassman	MOULTONBORO
Jean Beadle - Alt.	MOULTONBORO
Matt Sawyer	OSSIPEE
Matt Trahan - Alt.	OSSIPEE
Sherryl Hitte	TAMWORTH
Pam Hearne - Alt	TAMWORTH
Bob Murray	TUFTONBORO
Guy Pike - Alt	TUFTONBORO

#### 3. Fiscal Information

The CCCD fiscal year runs from July 1 to June 30. We are required to have an annual audit, per our District Agreement. The checking account was opened on July 25, 2023, with an initial deposit of \$100. That initial deposit was funds left in the Planning Committee's account. Our first annual audit will take place at the close of our first fiscal year.

The CCCD operates with one bank account. Expenses to date for FY2024 total \$24.28. There are no encumbrances. The unencumbered balance is \$75.72 as reported below in the most current Treasurer's Report.



#### **Treasurers Report**

Dates Covered: August 1, 2023 thru August 31, 2023

Beginning Balance as of 8/1/23 \$100.00

Income: none
Total Income \$ 0.00

8/1/23 Checks -\$ 24.28

Total Expenses -\$ 24.28

Ending Balance 8/31/23 \$ 75.72

Respectfully submitted,

Sherryl Hitte Treasurer

Expenses:



#### **Budget**

FY2024

#### Revenues:

Cash on Hand	\$	75.72
Projected Grants (ARPA)	<u>\$15,558.46</u>	
Total Revenues:	\$15,634.18	
Expenses:		
Bank Service Charges	\$	50.00
NHMA Membership	\$	620.00
Internet Hosting & Domain Fees	\$	115.00
Insurance	\$	500.00
Legal	\$	500.00
Advertising	\$	200.00
Annual Audit	\$	500.00
PO Box Rental	\$	70.00
Postage	\$	10.00
Printing Costs	<u>\$</u>	100.00
Total Expenses:	\$ 2,665.00	

#### 4. Historical Outline

- Fall 2018 Steve Knox & Rick Hiland first discuss high speed fiber optic internet for rural Carroll County
- June 2019 Carroll County Broadband Committee officially formed
- November 2021 Carroll County Fiber Broadband feasibility study completed
- March 2022 Carroll County Communications District Planning Committee formed to explore the possibility of establishing a Communications District per NH RSA 53-G
- March 2023 Carroll County Communications District officially formed when multiple Towns in Carroll County vote on the warrant article to join the Communications District
- May 2023 Final Town involved in planning process votes to join the Carroll County Communications District
- June 2023 Inaugural meeting of the Carroll County Communications District